Home Email The Tcherepnin Society


Current News
News 2011
News 2010
News 2009
News 2008
News 2007
News 2006
News 2005
News 2004


• In January 2011, EMI 20th Century Classics label issued a 2-CD set (#9072562) featuring recordings Alexander Tcherepnin made as composer-pianist between 1967 and 1973. Most of these performances had never before been available on CD. Along with keyboard works such as the Bagatelles, Op. 5, Sonata No. 1, Op.22, and Preludes Nostalgiques, Op.23, the program features Tcherepnin in two of his chamber scores, Piano Trio, Op.34 and Piano Quintet, Op.44. There are also songs by Nikolai Tcherepnin, sung by the legendary tenor Nicolai Gedda with Alexander at the piano. Several Alexander scores for strings alone are included in the set as well.

• Ivan Tcherepnin’s Creative Act is being studied in 2011 by the Philadelphia Museum of Art in preparation for an upcoming tribute to Merce Cunningham.

• In March 2011, Toccata Classics issued the first recording ever devoted exclusively to the piano music of Nikolai (#TOCC 0117).  Pianist David Witten plays Three Pieces, Op.24, The Fisherman and the Fish, Op.41, and Fourteen Sketches on Pictures from the Russian Alphabet, Op.38.

• Ivan Tcherepnin and Eric Martin’s cinematic collaboration entitled USA Film is now the subject of a UK and New Zealand-based academic research project on the technological and aesthetic history of speed in cinema.

• In March 2011, Sergei Tcherepnin performed in collaboration with Woody Sullender at the Abrons Art Center in Manhattan. In April, he participated as performer, lecturer and instructor at a symposium at the Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Frankfurt, Germany. In August he performed his 18-channel work Giving Rein at Club Free Time in NY, then presented his Be a speaker. So be it… in London in September, and in November gave performances with Nils Beck in Brooklyn, and with Woody Sullender in Brooklyn and Charlottesville, Virginia.

• In March 2011, Stefan Tcherepnin presented his Skype Performance with Janos Stone at the Camel Arts Space in Brooklyn. In June, his work was heard at the Real Fine Arts Gallery in Brooklyn, and in July he presented several performances of his multi-media participative opera The Marriage of Stefan Tcherepnin at the NY Museum of Modern Art. In September he appeared at Dktus in Stockholm, and in November he played his score Birth of the Worm in Detroit. Two new pieces in collaboration with Orion Keyser, Nightlife and Good Looking, became available as MP3 downloads on iTunes.

• From March 1-July 10, 2011. the Philadelphia Museum of Art played an episode from Nikolai Tcherepnin’s ballet Narcisse et Echo as part of an exhibition called Paris Through the Window: Marc Chagall and His Circle.

• On March 11, 2011, cellist Hai Zheng performed Alexander Tcherepnin’s Cello Sonata Op.30/2 at the International Cello Fest. She is currently Assistant Professor at Southwestern University (Texas)

• In April 2011, the Berlin Société label released a pair of electronic scores by Sergei Tcherepnin: Jupiter’s Ring and Moon Marriage, issued in a limited edition in the “retro” 12-inch LP format.

• On April 16-17, 2011, Andris Liepa and Co. presented Nicolai Tcherepnin’s ballet Le Pavillon d’Armide in the London Coliseum.

• In July 2011, Trio Una Corda presented Alexander Tcherepnin’s Piano Trio, Op.34 at the Festival Rencontres Musicales Internationales in Graves, France.

• In August 2011, the Brilliant Classics label issued a 2-CD repackaging (#9232) of Alexander’s 6 piano concertos in performances by pianist Noriko Ogawa, with the Singapore Symphony Orchestra conducted by Lan Shui

• In December 2011, Ivan’s Cadenzas in Transition was performed at CEFEDEM (Centre de formation a l’enseignement de la danse et de musique) in Nantes, France. Accompanying this was an in-depth analysis by Emilie Marc-Rigal and Clara Bodet.

• As of December 2011, Czech pianist Giorgio Koukl has recorded nearly 400 minutes of a path-breaking 7-CD series for Naxos, comprising the complete solo piano music of Alexander Tcherepnin. The first set is scheduled for release in Spring 2012.

• 2012 will see the Belaieff Company’s publication of Ivan’s cantata And So It Came To Pass, as well as a new, corrected and revised edition of his Cadenzas in Transition.

• 2012 will findSergei Tcherepnin serving as Artist in Residence for 3 months at Issue Project Room in Brooklyn.


Click here to return to NEWS AND EVENTS.


Site design by Jayne West

All rights reserved